AABB Foundation Award for Innovative Research

Renamed in 2016, the AABB Foundation Award for Innovative Research recognizes a scientist whose original research resulted in an important contribution to the body of scientific knowledge in transfusion medicine or biotherapies. The award recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium and must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • The recipient must be an AABB Foundation Scholar who completed his/her early-career grant research in the thirty-six (36) months immediately prior to receipt of the Award. After this 3-year period, a Scholar is no longer eligible for the award.
  • The recipient need not be a member of AABB.
  • The Foundation prefers that the recipient attend the AABB Annual Meeting, where the Award will be presented and the recipient provides an update on his/her research program; however, the Foundation will not reimburse the recipient for travel expenses.
  • The AABB Foundation Scientific Research Grants Review Committee (GRC) annually selects a Foundation Scholar to recommend as the award recipient to the AABB Foundation Board of Directors. The Board of Directors evaluates the research based equally upon the innovation and creativity exhibited, and the practical impact the research will have on patient outcomes in transfusion medicine and biotherapies.

Please send all inquiries about this award to awards@aabb.org.

AABB Foundation Innovative Research Award Logo

2022 Award Recipient

Moritz Stolla, MD, PhDMoritz Stolla, MD, PhD
Assistant Member
Bloodworks Northwest Research Institute

Associate Medical Director
Swedish Medical Center
Blood Transfusion Service

Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
University of Washington


For his 2019 National Blood Foundation-funded research project, titled “Cold-stored Platelets for the Reversal of Dual Antiplatelet Therapy.” The project’s findings demonstrated that cold-stored platelets were largely equivalent to room temperature-stored platelets in reversing the effect of antiplatelet therapy. All cold-stored platelet units passed quality control analyses, and no platelet aggregates at the end of the storage period were observed.

This project reported the first safety and in vivo efficacy data of 5-day cold-stored platelets in plasma. Dr. Stolla’s data could help influence decisions to move to a dual inventory easier and could have a practice-changing impact.

Since the completion of his AABB Foundation grant in 2019, Dr. Stolla has co-authored 12 scientific papers, of which he is the senior author on six.

Past Recipients of the AABB Foundation Award for Innovative Research

2021 David Gibb, MD, PhD
2020 Angelo D'Alessandro, PhD
2019 Krystalyn E. Hudson, PhD
2018 Sean Stowell, MD
2017 Stephanie Eisenbarth, MD, PhD
2016 Anand Padmanabhan, MD, PhD
2015 Jianhua Yu, PhD
2014 Eldad A. Hod, MD
2013 Chance John Luckey, MD, PhD
2012 Taku Kambayashi, MD, PhD
2011 Cheryl Lobo, PhD
2010 Christine Margaret Cserti-Gazdewich, MD, FRCPC
2009 Lan Zhou, MD, PhD
2008 Jose A. Cancelas, MD, PhD
2007 James C. Zimring, MD, PhD
2006 Andrés Hidalgo, PhD
2005 Carl Goodyear, PhD

*In 2022, the name of this award changed from National Blood Foundation Award for Innovative Research to AABB Foundation Award for Innovative Research.

*In 2016, the name of this award changed from Jack Latham Memorial Award for Innovative Research to National Blood Foundation Award for Innovative Research.

*In 2013, the name of this award changed from David B. Pall Prize for Innovative Research in Transfusion Medicine to Jack Latham Memorial Award for Innovative Research.