Governance & Policies

AABB is governed by its Board of Directors composed of the president, president-elect, past president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, as well as elected at-large directors, appointed directors, and directors who serve ex-officio.

Consistent with its commitment to optimal standards of care for patients and donors, the Association closely adheres to operating principles and practices that promote ethics and transparency.

2022-2023 AABB Board of Directors

Brian Gannon, BA, MBA


Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center​

Dana Devine, PhD

Past President

Canadian Blood Services

Aaron A. R. Tobian, MD, PhD


The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Meghan Delaney, DO, MPH

Vice President

Children’s National Hospital

Jose A. Cancelas, MD, PhD, CABP


University of Cincinnati

Delisa English, MBA

Treasurer and At-Large Director Position 2

The Blood Connection

Rachel Smith

At-Large Director Position 1

American Red Cross Biomedical Services

Dawn Ward, MD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 3

UCLA Health, David Geffen School of Medicine

Magali Fontaine, MD, PhD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 4

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Jerry A. Holmberg, PhD, MT(ASCP)SBB

At-Large Director Position 5

Maven Blood Consultants


At-Large Director Position 6

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Nancy Dunbar, MD

At-Large Director Position 7

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Celina Montemayor-Garcia, MD, PhD

At-Large Director Position 8

Canadian Blood Services

Sally A. Campbell-Lee, MD, CABP

At-Large Director Position 9

University of Illinois Hospital and Clinics

Suzanne Thibodeaux, MD, PhD, CABP(H)

At-Large Director Position 10

Washington University School of Medicine

Wen Lu, MD

Director (Transfusion Medicine Section Representative)

Mayo Clinic

Ronit Slotky, PhD, MSc

Director (Cellular Therapies Section Representative)

Hackensack University Medical Center

Richard Schäfer, MD, FRSB

Appointed Director

University of Freiburg

John Hagins

Chair, AABB Interorganizational Task Force on Domestic Disasters and Acts of Terrorism

The Community Blood Center

Debra BenAvram, FASAE, CAE

Ex-Officio Director