RISE Award

Transfusion Journal Award

The Research Innovation in Scientific Excellence (RISE) award recognizes an original research article of impeccable study design, innovation, significance and effective communication in any area of knowledge covered by Transfusion.

This award is presented annually during the General Session of the AABB Annual Meeting. Recipients will receive an honorarium.


Original research articles that have been published in Transfusion during preceding calendar year are eligible for this award.


Selection of recipient(s) is a collaborative effort of the journal's Associate Editors and the AABB Foundation's Scientific Research Grants Review Committee.

2022 Recipients


Jessie S. Luken, MD
Claudia C. Folman, PhD
Michaël V. Lukens, PhD, EuSpLM
Johan H. Meekers, MLS(ASCP)
Peter C. Ligthart, MSc
Henk Schonewille, PhD
Jaap Jan Zwaginga, MD, PhD
Mart P. Janssen, PhD
C. Ellen van der Schoot, MD, PhD
Johanna G. van der Bom, MD
Masja de Haas, MD, PhD


For their original research article titled “Reduction of anti-K-mediated hemolytic disease of newborns after the introduction of a matched transfusion policy: A nation-wide policy change evaluation study in the Netherlands” published in the 2021 volume year of TRANSFUSION.

View All Recipients